18 Pieces Of Hard Proof That ’90s Fashion Is Coming Back

See the source image

First off I ‘love’ how some of these ‘blog’ sites do not leave an option to leave a comment, like the one this post was inspired by. (Cowards)

I spent the 90s in my teens and colored hair really was not big as it is today, maybe it was more so among the celebrity type. Today I think I see more red, blue or green etc colored hair in a crowd of peers and celebrities as well to the minority of what there was in the 90s. Of all of those I hung out with there was one person (a drummer) that had green hair.

I’ve seen the ripped jeans more and more lately as well as legging those are  a couple  things I liked about the 90s. As for the little denim shorts… honestly they are a lot shorter now.. make that MICRO maybe more like macro. Frankly if you can wear these shorts I swear you have no bones. (or at least no butt)

Leggins are back,

they were big in the 90s, especially.

I loved them, they were so comfortable, and I need to find a few more pairs before they stop selling them!

NOW For those of you that are wearing leggings now, If you are trying to copy the 90s look, You are failing MISERABLY!  You are supposed to wear a t-shirt or hoodie that stops below your butt.  

During the summer they had an outfit of a calf length leggins with an over sized Tank top and we’d wear a small shirt or normal size tank top underneath and we’d pull up the leggings to just below our knees, (or just over) IF we didn’t have spandex.  A few of my friends and I loved these during the summer. They were great for the beach especially if you got there early in the morning when there was still a chill or windy, or even arrived later and were staying past dusk for some event. The one we went to was always windy so perfect beach wear!

 

See the source imageSee the source image

Backpacks

I think the Backpack purse started in the 90s (as I don’t recall having a backpack style purse before that) Kipling Bags (even rip offs) have been around and thriving since then. I still have my Purse/daypack. WE also had these boho (?) style, some had denim which If it was denim or some solid color ended up with pins patches and drawings on them

See the source imageSee the source image

 

I think I had one set of overalls but I don’t remember mine having the graffiti on them that was the popular style. I know you could buy them in the store, but others could design their own. ONe of my friends (and neighborhood friends as well) had a pair of shorts like this, I so wanted to steal them from him. Well I got to try them on and at least borrow them (really wish I had them now to make into something).  , Unless you had a trade job, or your name was Clarissa or Blossom, they were not really that cool. (Though I am currently looking for 1-2  overalls to make something out of.) however what they make now, or at least what I saw in some commercial the overalls were way too tight on that girl.

See the source image

(Denim) VESTS were not the thing around here, though vests in general (see New Kids on the block I forget which video, Right stuff maybe Hanging Tough  but If i remember right Jordan wore them most as well as Danny & Donny) But those nice casual/dress type vests were the sort to wear in the 90s.

It wasn’t just a denim jacket you wore… Usually the metal heads had them on as an alternate to the leather jacket (especially once the weather was warmer) We would put patches of our favorite bands on it with a few accent pins.   I still have mine…  not sure if it’s in the clothes pile or closet (was adding patches to it). It was originally my father’s jacket and I ‘stole’ it from him. (actually i think it didn’t fit him anymore and that was why, so I sew my patches on this way if I grow out of a band (or something happens that I no longer respect them..) I can take it off.

Another thing… it wasn’t a ‘Black Leather Jacket’ it was specific as in a BLACK BIKER jacket and I mean a biker as in Harley NOT a crotch rocket (like a ninja) jacket

See the source image  vs See the source image

Double Denim is usually always in fashion especially out west, I call it the Texas Tuxedo (no, I don’t live there, I live in NY)

PLAID was the big fashion icon of the era,

the checker board shirt was considered as such, but those that couldn’t pull off the ‘Grunge’ look with a regular plaid shirt, would wear the checkered shirts. basically the plaid shirt was more an accessory. If you weren’t wearing it, then it was around your waist. Also the boots were taller than what is listed here, yes even with shorts. The easiest way to get the idea… watch My So-called Life

See the source image

THESE are the boots you’d want There were 3 different sizes,  ankle, calf and knee high. I know I had a pair of calf high and the knee high,. Oh and the specific brand that was favorable were Doc Martins (I had a friend that had a red pair) and it didn’t matter if it was summer, winter, rain or shine.

We didn’t call them ‘military’ boots, they were called combat boots (or so we called them) and you wore the boots, with EVERYTHING!!! Pants, shorts, dresses and skirts. What can I say… we were badass! There were a few people I knew that had more than one pair! (I wish I had this pair back then!! would have helped when I would hang out with friends in my neighborhood )

 

 

 

The ‘floral’ dresses (or any) I remember of the 90s were those that Mayim Bialik wore on Blossom. I had one of those long ones we wore with combat boots, and one of those velvet(een) like one that were worn as a dress or a shirt. (was great if you were working and then would be going out right afterwards!) Some would wear leggings under it and wear it as a shirt. So it was a 2 in one deal. Here’s a purple one. Sadly couldn’t find a picture of the hat like I had.

Image result for 90s show blossom fashionSee the source image

 

JELLIES

See the source imageImage result for 90s sjellhy shoesSee the source image

The summer shoe of choice, for some reason. I remember having a pink pair, but as for which of these designs I had them in both the blue as well as the 1st clear pair look familiar. I don’t ever remember seeing the sandal version though. For some reason I’d love to see them again, but 1. afraid how much they would charge for them and 2. I remember these used to rip my heel a new one! Sometimes these looked more classy than regular shoes in the summer.

See the source imageSee the source image

Aside from Ginger spice in the photo from the  Source: 18 Pieces Of Hard Proof That ’90s Fashion Is Coming Back  that inspired me to write this…  I don’t remember anyone wearing platform shoes; But then again I do remember I had a pair that looked like sneakers and that was in 96 or 98 when I went to Toronto for the first or 2nd time. But I don’t remember many aside from other music stars and celebrities wearing them.

 

The Greatest ’90s Fashion Trends | Complex

Replies and feedback always welcome

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.