The Beach Bag

I started this post in spring or beginning of  summer 2019. Sadly for some reason it never got published.  I hope this time it worked!

 

So what’s in your ‘beach’ bag

Dejaroo Beach Bag - Mesh Beach Bag - available via amazon

Dejaroo Beach Bag – Mesh Beach Bag – Large lightweight beach tote with 8 pockets including an inside zippered pocket via amazon

  1. Sunblock (NO homemade versions more later)
  2. flip flops
  3. Sunglasses
  4.  (light) Jacket
  5. water shoes (as I usually wear my flip flops there)
  6. Bathing suit
  7. Reading (1 book 1 magazine to take a break from the book)
  8. Hat
  9. Baby wipes or wet wipes to ‘wash’ hands
  10. Bottles of water (maybe a beer/soda to have with lunch)
  11. of course a towel and chair
  12. Water shirt.
  13. Waterproof phone protector

Beach Bags

KEHO Large Canvas Beach Bag Travel Tote (White),

Waterproof Lining, 3 Pockets, FREE Phone Protector via amazon

this I’m going to have to get this next one for when dad and I go fishing!

GINRRY Beach Bag and Totes, Large Capacity cooler

Double Mesh Tote Beach Bags, Portable Beach bag with Cooler Compartment, Insulated Reusable Beach Bags for Women/Camping/Travel/Work (Black) Available via Amazon

If you want one because you need to take your things in the water with you (like if you are swimming in caves etc) this is for you

Waterproof Dry Bag 5L/10L/20L

-Water Resistant Lightweight Backpack with Handle-Floating Dry Storage Ocean Bag Keeps Gear Impervious to Water-Perfect for Kayaking, Boating, Birthday Gift, Vacation. Available via amazon

 

 

ALEENUN Waterproof Dry Bag - Roll Top Dry Backpack Floating Sack 10L/20L/30L with Water Resistant Phone Case for Beach, Kayaking, Rafting, Boating, Swimming, Fishing, Hiking, Birthday GiftALEENUN Waterproof Dry Bag – Roll Top Dry Backpack Floating Sack 10L/20L/30L with Water Resistant Phone Case for Beach, Kayaking, Rafting, Boating, Swimming, Fishing, Hiking, Birthday Gift

 

Sunblock

The MOST important item. I prefer to use is  50spf  UVA and UVB protection

Might be smart to take 2, especially if you still have one from last year as they lose their protection. (You shouldn’t have it longer than 3-6 months if opened)

Do NOT make homemade sunblock, it does not work well enough. (the only time this is good is if you are stuck on coconut island)

While Coconut and watermelon are suppose to have a natural sun blocking abilities Coconut only blocks 20% of the sun’s rays

Call It the Summer diet or SUN diet… 12 Foods That Boost Your Skin’s Natural Sun Protection   (plan your drinks and snacks for the beach around them.

I recommend Neutrogena or Coppertone 50 or higher. No matter your skin tone You need it. If you are fair skinned You need to put on every 15 -30 minutes  olive skin and darker you really just need every 45 minutes (but it also depends on your area) remember if you decide to go in the water, put more on just before especially if you don’t have a shirt with sunblocking abilities.

Personally I don’t mind getting a slight burn, usually I have it for maybe one or 2 days and then it just looks tan. But then I also do take are of it when I get one.  I think the best way to explain it is it looks like you have a little blush on. I have always used the Noxema moisturizing cleanser since I was little and my parents before me. We leave it in the refrigerator and use it when we get a burn, it cools it off, especially after taking a shower. I also have my own aloe plant so I Harvest one of the leaves put it in a little Burt’s Bee’s container with a few drops of fresh lemon juice to preserve it. Plus I also moisturizer after I wash my face.

However I do always put sunblock all over, at least once per hour if not more often. The lower the SPF  you have to put it on more often. Also by the end of the day you should only have half your bottle/can left if not all gone. (Basically you should have one tube per person) Which I know is expensive,

Sunglasses

I prefer wraparounds if I wear sunglasses, although I have found a pair of aviator style glasses that look right on me and that was at a dollar tree.  I wear the sunglasses to and from and maybe for a bit in the morning before I sit or laydown to tan. (I can’t stand seeing a reverse racoon in the mirror. One of the guys I used to work with, he’s get at least 10x darker than his normal color but where his glasses were shows his true color.

Be sure they have UV protection,  and if you already have sunglasses that are supposed to have UV protection, give them the test. (If you do not have a blacklight you can make one with your Cellphone’s Flashlight! (using the video in the link)!

 

Jacket

You just need a light jacket. If  you go to the beach and I especially mean near the ocean it is often breezy if not out right windy. A Baja is a great cover up for when you get a chill. Man was I happy, I had a baja type shirt with me (not that knit type)  one of the times I went fishing with my dad and a friend.

 

Water ShoesSIMARI Unisex Water Sports Shoes Barefoot Slip-on Indoor Outdoor Sports Activities SWS001 Stripe Black 9.5-10.5

I usually only wear these at the beach as if something touches my feet in the water I freak out. I always think a fish thinks my toes are a worm. Another reason is, you don’t know what kind of crap has been thrown in the water. There could be broken glass, pieces of metal something rusty and worse. So I prefer to have a pair of these just to be safe.

Order a pair of Men’s or women’s here and choose a color

Bathing Suit

Women's Bikini and Boardshort │Strappy Hollow-Out Back Tankini Swimsuits for Women │Two Pieces Bathing Suits Sports SwimwearTUONROAD Mens 3D Printed Funny Swim Trunks Quick Dry Beachwear Sports Running Swim Board Shorts Mesh LiningThese are best to buy in the store so I won’t be adding any recommendations here. however I Love the Tankini Look

However lately I’ve been wearing a bathing top and a pair of board shorts. 9I can’t seem to find the sort of bottoms I want. I found a pair to use as shorts under a costume at a thrift store but can’t seem to find the same shorts in a regular store. I was going to put a ‘normal’ design up until I gave myself a face plant when I saw this shark pair. As for the original boardshorts I was going to show, I liked the design but not really the colors.  But at least you can choose what design you want. The one with the pink/purple color be careful. Nonwe Men's Sportwear Quick Dry Board Shorts with Lining

 

Reading

For me I prefer something that is set in the summer, a cozy mystery or one of my favorite series, especially Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum books.

I also like to bring a magazine along Something I don’t subscribe to So Woman’s world or something else that would have a little fashion, Beauty, some home and food help. I have a few books that are maybe 100 pages or less. When I see that sort I usually buy them for beach reading no matter genre or even if its a kid’s book!.  A few of these books are 

Dragonswan (Were-Hunter)Hell IslandGhostsZoo

DragonswanHell Island  * Ghosts* Zoo

 

HatMG Men's Washed Cotton Twill Chin Cord Outdoor Hunting Hat

I Used to use a  Bucket hat like this when I needed. I’m not some fashionista and when I was near the ocean last time I was fishing. Also I didn’t even use it until later in the day when the wind picked up and I got a chill as the sun went behind a big cloud. (the the fish had been stealing our bait all day so we took that as time to go)

Now I have this for my fishing hat Adult Unisex Cotton Jeans Cap Old-Fashion Adjustable Hat Quints Shark Fishing Jaws 7 Colors Available there’s a style and color for anyone

 

for the ladies that prefer a wide brim hat you can choose you color and style

Watershirt

I trust the body Glove brand, as so far as I’ve used mine, I have not been burned while wearing it in the water. However I recommend a short sleeve as it will be a pain to get in and out of a wet water shirt with long sleeves.

This should have a sunblock to it. I know mine had it marked on it when I bought it, I just can’t remember what the level was.

Body Glove 13210W Women's Basic Fitted Short Arm RashguardBody Glove Wetsuit Co Men's Basic Fitted Short Arm Rashguard

beach-packing-list/

Replies and feedback always welcome

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.